WEST HAM PARK COMMITTEE

1. Constitution

A Non-Ward Committee consisting of,

- eight Members elected by the Court of Common Council, at least one of whom shall have fewer than five years' service on the Court at the time of their appointment; the membership to be the same as the Open Spaces & City Gardens Committee.
- plus the following:
 - o four representatives nominated by the Heirs-at-Law of the late John Gurney
 - one representative nominated by the Parish of West Ham
 - o two representatives nominated by the London Borough of Newham

2. Quorum

The quorum consists of any five Members.

3. Membership 2022/22

- 5 (4) Caroline Wilma Haines
- 12 (4) Wendy Mead, O.B.E.
- 6 (3) Oliver Sells, Q.C.
- (2) Andrew Stratton McMutrie, J.P.

together with the ex-officio Members referred to in paragraph 1 above, two Members to be appointed this day, and:-Four representatives appointed by the heirs-at-law of the late John Gurney:-

- Catherine Bickmore
- Rafe Courage
- Richard Gurney (Heir-at-Law)
- Justin Meath-Baker

One representative appointed by the incumbent or priest, for the time being, in charge of the present benefice of West Ham:-

- Rev Simon Nicholls

Two representatives appointed by the London Borough of Newham

- Councillor John Whitworth
- Councillor Joy Laguda

4. Terms of Reference

To:

- (a) have regard to the overall policy laid down by the Open Spaces & City Gardens Committee.
- (b) be responsible for the ownership and management of West Ham Park (registered charity no. 206948) in accordance with the terms of conveyance of the Park by John Gurney, Esq. to the City of London Corporation dated 20th July 1874 and in accordance with the Licence in Mortmain dated 22nd May 1874.
- (c) authorise the institution of any criminal or civil proceedings arising out of the exercise of its functions.
- (d) express views or make recommendations to the Open Spaces and City Gardens Committee for that Committee's allocation of grants which relate to West Ham Park.